About Us

The SAIA-Eastern Cape Institute of Architects, formerly known as the Port Elizabeth Society of Architects was founded in 1900 with affiliation to, and with a constitution based on that of the Royal Institute of British Architects. In 1927 The Port Elizabeth Society of Architects became the Port Elizabeth Local Committee of the Cape Provincial Institute of Architects and in 1990 the Constitution of the Institute of South African Architects was amended and the institute, as currently constituted, came into being. 

Members of the SAIA-EC subscribe to a strict code of conduct to ensure the public of the highest standards in professional practice. Having the advantage of institutional support, collective experience, continued professional development and international affiliations to draw from, members are able to maximize client's benefit through competency, expertise and integrity.

President : Charles Louw    
Vice-President  : Dr Gillian Adendorff 
Practice : Dr Gillian Adendorff
Finance : Neill Kievit
Marketing : Dal Venables
Communications : Daniel Bezuidenhout
CPD/Education : Brad Wale
Transformation : Penny Murray
Heritage : Dorelle Sapere
NMMU Representative : Andrew Palframan
NMBM Representative : Andrew Treasure
MBDA Representative : Dorelle Sapere
DPW Representative : John Bizinos
Executive Officer : Kara Delport
Follow Us